comment 0

The beginning of strawberry recipes

I just had an epic night. I’m paying for it now,  but it’s worth it every once in awhile! I MADE myself go out. It had to be planned, and dinner needed to be early enough that I wouldn’t feel drawn to the usual pajama and tv life. By the time 7 rolled around I was in a sour mood. These injuries have their moments and yesterday I was feeling pretty sorry for myself. Also necessary every once in awhile. But I followed through with the plan because I knew there was no chance of recovering without some serious distraction.

Usually our little town is happenin’ on Fridays but dead on Saturdays. So it was a pleasant surprise that the local hangout was packed with smiling faces. There was a good band and everyone was there. We made some awesome new friends and once the bar died down we were drawn into another place with perfectly cheesy dance music that makes you question it for 1 second but then it’s literally impossible to stop dancing for the next 2 hours. Someone pulled a chair into the middle and I danced pumping my arms around for the entire time. My shoulders are killing me today! Everyone was so supportive that I choked back tears – half the people didn’t know why I was sitting on a chair in the middle of the dance floor but they welcomed me full-hearted and it was a beautiful experience. We fell asleep to the ringing in our ears from hell.

I made a healing chicken soup (I keep forgetting that I need to do more for food as medicine for my poor hip) that was very simple but perfect for pre-gaming. And this morning I woke up, wanting to strangle my yesterday-self, but followed through with the plan: Strawberry Quinoa Muffins. Sustenance. So here they are!

soup

soup2

 

Chicken Soup for the Spirit

1 Whole Chicken (4-5lbs)

Broth: 14 cups water

1 onion

1 Whole head of garlic

2 Carrots

3 Stalks of Celery

Handful dried Shitakes

1t Whole Peppercorns

1 Stalk of dried Lemongrass

2-3′ Fresh Ginger

Soup: 1 onion

3 Carrots

4 Stalks Celery

2c Kale

1c Mushrooms

1 Red Bell Pepper

Grated fresh ginger

1t Salt

1t Red Pepper Flakes

1/2 Head Cabbage

1/4c Herbs (I only had tarragon)

1. Throw Chicken and Broth ingredients in a big pot and simmer for 1 1/2-2 hours.

2. Take chicken out and strain everything. Put broth back in the pot, throw in the soup ingredients, and cook for another 30-45 mins. Tear apart the bird – get every bit! And then save the bones (ziplock bag in the freezer) for the next broth.

3. Serve, eat, and feel good about yourself.

Strawberry Quinoa Muffins

2  1/4  c GF flour mix

1t power

1t soda

1/2t salt

1t Five Spice

1/3 c cooked quinoa

1c thick Coconut Milk

1/4c Maple Syrup

1/2c melted Coconut Oil

2 eggs

1 lemon’s zest

Strawberries!

1. Mix dry. Mix wet.

2. Dry + Wet + Quinoa + Strawberries.

3.  Bake in parchment paper muffin thingies at 400* for 20 mins.

4. Cool for an unfortunately long time before removing from tins or else they’ll crumble like crazy (obviously deal with one crumbling so you can eat it within 10 mins)

muffins

muffins2

muffin3

 

YT, JS.

Leave a Reply

